volunteer @ vanderpump dogs

My friend Sarah Hollins posted that she was looking for volunteers at Vanderpump Dogs and I had to be part of it! I knew Lisa and Ken Vanderpump would put together a beautiful space for rescuing and re-homing dogs – something I’ve always wanted to be more involved in because of the love for my Jack Russell-Terrier named Joey. I see his little snout, sweet eyes and genuine playfulness in other dogs and their stories are so similar to how I got him. A good girlfriend of mine was fostering him after a neighbor found his pregnant mama on the streets; her neighbor took care of her until she had her puppies which eventually led me to Joey at 11 weeks old. Every dog and person should have a home and be loved!

Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 11.45.10 AM.png

Some of the dogs they’ve received at Vanderpump Dogs have come from hoarding houses, high kill shelters and even owner-surrendered. Through the experience, I have fallen in love with each dog’s personality and thrilled when I come in to find the dogs I know are now in loving homes. Since I’ve started volunteering once a week, I think we’ve found homes for every dog that I’ve met in the month that the rescue has been open. I just love what they’ve created here because going to shelters to adopt can be so heart-wrenching.

IMG_8577.JPGVP Dogs is the most ideal place to adopt a new dog for the family especially providing thoughtfulness of the layout with four chairs set up looking at each other for this important decision. The best part is also knowing that each dog you meet here is updated on their shots and has usually been neutered/spayed,  played with and loved by the staff and volunteers.IMG_8531.JPG

To adopt, just ask for an application while you’re there and then they’ll schedule a “home check” in person or via skype. The fee to adopt is $400-450 which goes right back to saving more dogs!

If you’ve been thinking about owning a dog, I can’t recommend coming in to check it out enough! You can ease into the idea and meet the rescues before grabbing lunch at one of my favorite 3rd Street spots the little door or shopping at anine bing.

If you already have a dog, bring him/her in to get “Vanderpuffed” with one of the VP groomers that all love their job! With 100% of retail and service purchases going back to saving more dogs, I started buying all of Joey’s food here too. I had him on Blue Ribbon, but with the recent recall I decided to change brands. Since switching, Joey had zero problems with bowel movements – in fact, they’ve gotten healthier! We also crumble 1/2 a dinner patty from Stella & Chewy’s on the kibble that he loves.

IMG_8952.jpg

IMG_8497.JPG

With elaborate outfits, blinged out collars, leashes and fun accessories to choose from – you’ll love shopping for your best friend in the retail area too.

IMG_8958.jpgIMG_8499.JPG

 

IMG_8504.JPG

IMG_8498.JPG

Below are some of the dogs that have already been adopted – Mama at the bottom had puppies two weeks ago, so we’ll probably have more miniature pinchers!

IMG_8507.JPGIMG_8512.JPGIMG_8509.JPG

Leave a Reply

