Brand Acquisition + Quality Control

Michael Kors bought Jimmy Choo yesterday for $1.2 billion and I can’t help but cringe as I recall when the quality of Juicy Couture products disappeared after Liz Claiborne bought their company for a cool $53.1 million in 2003. It was the first time I understood what it meant to be ‘sell out.’ Besides going out of fashion, the trendy velour and cotton tracksuits started to have noticeably thinner fabric and cheaper zippers immediately after the acquisition. I concluded that it was likely from changing manufacturers and the fabric to increase profit margins.  The original designers stayed with the brand until 2010 when they parted ways and now Juicy Couture can be found at Kohl’s. But I have a feeling in another 20 years, those color-coordinated tracksuits will come back as a trend – just like Ditto jeans, one of the first companies to specialize in blue jeans in the 1970’s which I absolutely love and wear now as a 31 year old in 2017. It might take 30-40 years, but I wonder if the Jimmy Choos brand value will no longer be what it once was – for it is at the hands of another mediocre fashion brand trying to stay relevant.

As lover of designer shoes, I wore the red-bottomed Christian Louboutins in my early 20s and I started favoring a couple Choos in my late 20s. Recently though I discovered Tamara Mellon who I then learned was a co-founder and chief creative officer for the Jimmy Choo brand;  it made sense why I was drawn to her as a designer.

Love these Frontline Sandals by Tamara Mellon in Nude

Frontline_105_Nude_Nappa_Sandals_PDP_1_45448_2048x

Just added Tamara Mellon’s memoir to my Amazon book list.

tamara-mellon-in-my-shoes

Leave a Reply

